Today I had a thought…

Today I had a thought… We all live our lives with the notion that happiness is a goal – I’ll be happy when I’m married and in love, I’ll be happy when I’m fit, I’ll be happy when…I’ll finally be happy when…
But the only constant in this world is change – the contrast – the things that make us unhappy…they are just things and you choose how you react.
Happiness is not a destination…it is here, it is now…and now and now and now and now and now… what you choose to notice is what is. We are always sitting in the happiness we are looking forward to, that distant fantasy is already here in incremental moments, if only we take notice.
There will never be stability, and if there was constant stability, constant sameness…you would not be happy for long. Appreciation is lost without the contrast of what it is like to not have what you have, to not feel how you feel, to know lack of happiness is necessary to have happiness at all and in it’s truest form. Anything other than this would not be genuine. This life is genuine because it is beautiful because it has darkness, it is peaceful because it has chaos, it is temporary…because we are forever.

 

– Rebecca Elizabeth Anne

